Restless Natives Rally For N.O. with New Album

The Restless
Natives Rally for New Orleans
Artists Unite
for Victims of Hurricane Katrina
New Orleans, LA — Although it
has been nearly a full year since Hurricane Katrina struck the Gulf Coast,
thousands of displaced people are still in dire need of assistance with housing
and basic needs. Louisiana-based label Dragon’s Breath Records has brought
together some of the South’s hottest underground artists to create The
Restless Natives.
Slated for nationwide release on
June 27, the album showcases a phenomenal array of talent from New
Orleans.  Some of the artists featured on the project include
Truth Universal, Raj Smoove, DJ Maxmillion, Dick Darby, DJ J Infinite, Dizzy,
Impulss, Euphonetiks, Don Libido the 9th Ward Avenger, DJ Blaknificent – many of
whom lost everything they owned in the tragedy of Hurricane Katrina. Their
unification is a strong testament of the passion that still thrives in New
Orleans Hip Hop.
“The eye isn’t really on New
Orleans like it used to be, and hopefully this will bring more local
artists together to work with each other,” says popular club and mixtape DJ
Maxmillion. “Whoever listens to this can get something out of at least one of
the songs that they can relate to. The CD isn’t wholly based on the
events that happened, but it does give these artists the chance to express
themselves in their own way.”
For more information and links
on The Restless Natives, go to
For interviews and press
information, contact
The Restless
Natives Tracklist
1. Introducing – DJ Maxmillion
ft. Nesby Phipps, Truth Universal, and Jules
2. Promise – DJ Raj Smoove and
3. King’s Hwy – Euphonetiks (Zach, Lyrikill, and Onclaut)
4. If
Memory Serves – Don Libido the 9th Ward Avenger
5. Never Get Enough – Impulss
ft. Saddi Khali
6. Say Ya – Dick Darby ft. AJ
7. Rain or Shine –
Euphonetiks (Lyrikill and Onclaut)
8. Heat – Truth Universal
9. Alday –
Dick darby ft. Bi®d of Raw Poetix and MC Roah
10. Never Give In – Euphonetiks
(Merc and Lyrikill)
11. The Dream – Dick Darby
12. So Many Days – DJ Raj
Smoove, Dizzy, and Trell
13. So They Say – Don Libido the 9th Ward
14. Mayhem in Metropolis – J Infinite
About The Restless
The Restless
Natives is an eclectic compilation of Hip Hop songs by various artists from
the New Orleans community, brought to you by Dragon’s Breath Records. We began
working on this project before Katrina struck the city, however due to the
devastating effects of the hurricane we wanted to dedicate this cd to the
victims, even though only a few tracks actually reference the storm.
This project is intended to give
more exposure to several deserving New Orleans artists, and we hope it will help
to rebuild the N.O. music scene as well. Featured artists include Truth
Universal, Raj Smoove, DJ Maxmillion, Dick Darby, DJ J Infinite, Dizzy, Impulss,
Euphonetiks, Don Libido the 9 th Ward Avenger, DJ Blaknificent, and more.
Several of these artists lost everything to the hurricane, but rather than let
that get them down, it has only fueled their desire to succeed. Many great
developments have happened as a result.
Truth Universal was recently
signed to the respected Bay Area label Guerilla Funk. Dizzy is currently on the
road with Little Wayne recording guest features, and he’s working on his next
album From the Ground Up with Raj Smoove. Dick Darby recently dropped
another album titled Broadcasting Live from the Streets of New Orleans: Days
Before Katrina on his Ghettodreamz Movement label. Impulss is touring and
working on an album with Mr. Man aka Mr. Khaliyl from The Bush Babees.
Don Libido is also working on
his debut album, The Under The Influence Sessions , which is available
this summer. And J Infinite is producing a series of sample driven manifestos,
intended to provide some kind of emotional release from all those affected by

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.